Online Store



Tibet 1939-42. 1-Rupee

Tibet is a plateau region in Asia, north-east of the Himalayas, in China

Tibet emerged in the 7th century as a unified empire, but it soon divided into a variety of territories. The bulk of western and central Tibet was under a series of Mongol and Chinese overlordship. The eastern regions of Kham and Amdo often maintained a more decentralized indigenous political structure, was eventually incorporated into the Chinese provinces of Sichuan and Qinghai. The current borders of Tibet were generally established in the 18th century.

Following the collapse of the Qing dynasty in 1912, the region subsequently declared its independence in 1913, without recognition by the following Chinese Republican government. Later Tibet became unified into the People's Republic of China, and the previous Tibetan government was abolished in 1959 after a failed uprising. Today, the People's Republic of China governs western and central Tibet as the Tibet Autonomous Region; while the eastern areas are now mostly ethnic autonomous prefectures within SichuanQinghai and other neighbouring provinces.